Scroll to content
Gelliswick VC Primary School

Ysgol Gelliswick

VC Primary School

Together we value, we hope, we give, we achieve

Interactive Bar


Our Curriculum - Ein Cwricwlwm

The school teaches according to the requirements of the school curriculum for Wales which has grown out of the Donaldson review and was launched throughout Wales from September 2022.  The purpose of the new curriculum is to support children to be

  • ambitious, capable learners, ready to learn throughout their lives

  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work

  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world

  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.

Therefore the emphasis of the curriculum at Gelliswick is to equip young people for life, and ensure they make good progress throughout their time at school.  The curriculum is designed to ensure that pupils learn the key skills they need, and to be able to apply their knowledge creatively.  There is an emphasis on communication and literacy skills, on number skills, and on reasoning skills.  We also aim to ensure pupils are able to thrive in an increasingly digital world.

Teachers plan together to ensure continuity and progression, and lessons are designed to ensure that every pupil makes progress through appropriate challenge and differentiated activities. All children are carefully monitored and assessed to ensure progress is being made, and that pupils understand how they are performing and what they need to do next.

Please find below a summary of our curriculum.

Together we value, we hope, we give, we achieve